Johann Wempe Award


Call for nominations and applications for the

Johann Wempe Award

Applications and nominations should be sent to the Scientific Chairman of the AIP:

Professor Matthias Steinmetz
Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP)
An der Sternwarte 16
D-14482 Potsdam

Application and nomination materials should be submitted by December 31, 2020

Announcement (pdf)



Wempe award recipients:
Awarded in 2019: Elisabeth Newton
Awarded in 2017: Alice C. Quillen
Awarded in 2015: Oliver Gressel
Awarded in 2014: Brent Tully
Awarded in 2012: Thomas R. Ayres
Awarded in 2010: Yehuda Hoffman
Awarded in 2009: Matthias Rempel
Awarded in 2008: Kenneth C. Freeman
Awarded in 2007: Ignasi Ribas
Awarded in 2006: Eva Grebel
Awarded in 2005: Alexander Kosovichev
Awarded in 2004: Isabelle Baraffe and Gilles Chabrier
Awarded in 2002: Russell Cannon
Awarded in 2001: Tom Abel